What A Wonderful World…

14 Apr

2013-10-12_10-06-20_990

In my neighborhood, I often spot strange plants that look like aliens from another planet or vegetation straight out of a Dr. Seuss book. I know a fair amount about horticulture and yet some of the species make me do a double take.

When I see a flower shocking in color or strangeness, I’m filled with wonder, for just when we think life is humdrum and ordinary, it can take us by utter surprise. It can make us bow to its majesty and serendipity.

If a picture says a thousand words, the one above says it all.

“And I think to myself, what a wonderful world…”

4 Responses to “What A Wonderful World…”

  1. Ron Bolles April 14, 2014 at 7:46 pm #

    I love the exotic blooms my Passionflower brought forth for many years in our garden. Along with the trumpet vines on our fence, we were presented daily with a plethora of God’s artistry in plants. The purple flower pictured above was given the name Passionflower or Passion vine by Pope V in 1605 because the floral parts were once said to represent aspects of the Christian crucifixion story, sometimes referred to as the Passion. The 10 petal-like parts represent Jesus’s disciples, excluding Peter and Judas; the 5 stamens the wounds Jesus received; the knob-like stigmas the nails; the fringe the crown of thorns.

  2. lisesletters April 14, 2014 at 8:01 pm #

    Thanks for your wonderful comment, Ron.

  3. joelgarza13 April 16, 2014 at 6:40 pm #

    A thousand words for sure. I’d never seen that kind of flower. Fun blog!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 422 other followers

