Flowers Turning Towards the Sun

28 Aug

In nature, flowers have a natural impulse to turn towards the sun. Like a beautifully choreographed dance, blossoms open themselves in the direction of the light to receive sustenance. I think of prayer as a similar phenomenon. When we seek the face of God, we are like flowers turning towards the sun.

My church just finished five days of prayer vigils. I attended every one and it was wonderful. It reminded me of when I used to meditate regularly in formal settings. Oddly, this did not burden my schedule. In fact, it was just the opposite. When I don’t pray, the craziness of my schedule swallows me up; if I pray, somehow I receive extra fuel, insight and rest. It is a weird phenomenon. 

In tonight’s vigil, the facilitator gave us permission to lie down anywhere in the church. I chose not to but as other people grabbed blankets and pillows, I had this incredible sense of deja-vu. I remembered being a child in my father’s home when things were good. When I was safe, loved, protected and warm. When sleep was easy and when things hadn’t turned tragic. And then I made the connection – I have finally found my Father’s home again. I finally feel the peace I experienced at times during my childhood and have found the family I’ve been so desperately seeking – my family is in the church. Tonight I felt my spiritual brothers and sisters off in their bedrooms while I sat up awake. And tears of joy filled my eyes as I realized that I have come Home.

During this hour of prayer I thought of loved ones deceased and oddly, sensed my own death, which is becoming a more recurrent theme during my quiet time. I don’t know what this means really. Perhaps at 40, I’m in touch with my own immortality or have a genuine premonition of my own death. Or, it may be that as I heal through God, the distinctions between the physical and spiritual worlds fade. Who knows. Only He knows when our work here on Earth is done but more and more I sense the only reason we’re here is to eventually get “there.” Then again, death can be symbolic of other things ending – chapters of our lives, habits, sins – all dying so that new life can emerge. 

A flower blooms, it dies and finds new life again.

3 Responses to “Flowers Turning Towards the Sun”

  1. April King August 28, 2009 at 5:23 am #

    This is incredibly beautiful, Lise. I am
    so happy that you are a part of our family, dear sister.

  2. Blair Glaser August 28, 2009 at 1:13 pm #

    Gorgeous. I am tickled by your use of the word “immortality” when I believe you meant to say, mortality. It actually fits, give the circumstances of where you are.

  3. Kevin Brangwynne August 28, 2009 at 8:11 pm #

    This is beautiful! I’m really glad you’re part of our family too!

Leave a Reply

