Hormonal

5 Sep

As much as I hate PMS jokes, there really is something to hormones and their power to create Dr. Jekel and Mr. Hyde within the female species. But what does all that mean really? Just what is the good and the bad of being hormonal? Is there any benefit from feeling like an emotional time bomb about to detonate?

PMS stands for PRE-menstrual cycle – that means before menstrual cycle – not during. Within the female, we see a variety of symptoms, depending on the type of breed: weepy, bitchy, hungry, tired. When I was younger, I would get so depressed before my period started it scared me. But then like magic, the feelings would lift and I’d be back to my smiling self. Now I just get EXTREMELY tired with a need to be horizontal – a bag of potato chips by my side. If you mix this in with a full moon, I fall asleep by 8:00 pm, dream profusely and want nothing to do with people after 5:00 pm.

The gift of this is that once a month, I realize how little control I really have in my life. Over my body and the rhythms of life itself. It teaches me to just slow down, stop and deal with my limitations. With my moods. My distortions. My tendency towards self-pity and negativity. And it makes me rely on God. Because at the end of the day, He is the only one who can pull me through the craziness of my own chemistry. Not meds. Not motrin. Just me and God. And my dear dear bed.

One Response to “Hormonal”

  1. Aldo Veranzo September 6, 2009 at 3:30 am #

    Lise,

    I empathize with you about life’s monthly rhythms. Even I, as a male, have become quite in touch with the cycle of the Moon. I don’t know what percentage of the male population realizes it too is subjected to “moonly” ups and downs. I can’t speak for other males, but when that Moon is starting to climb to be as big and round as a dinner plate, I feel it powers a week in advance. Moody, short-tempered, irritability, and horny! I drives me crazy some months more than others.

    I like how you write. It is from the heart, raw. and honest.

    Sleep well!

    Peace.

Leave a Reply

