Refilling the Well

28 Jun

I’m in the middle of reading Genesis at the moment and am discovering that wells represent a recurring motiff throughout the book. There is a need for water yet sometimes the wells dry up. And then there is water again. 

This seems a fitting metaphor for where I am at this point in time. I had no idea that my well was starting to run dry. On the contrary, I was thinking of myself as a pump that in order to produce had to stay primed.

Truth be told, I don’t know enough about wells or pumps to use this as an adequate analogy. I just know that it is time for me to refill my internal and intellectual well. And that the water source is going to come from rest. Albeit, I have to continue working to make a living but it is time to SLOW down and metabolize all that I have learned this year. To reflect. To day dream. To read and think and write. And contemplate my navel.

And most important – to be still. 

For He is the source. Of my well.

One Response to “Refilling the Well”

  1. T.C. Porter July 5, 2010 at 6:15 am #

    Thanks Lise. We’ve sort of already talked about this.

    Growing up near St. Louis we had a well and the thing about it was, it filled up when it wanted. Which of course was when it rained. And some years were dryer than others. But there was some rhythm to it. And doggone it I am finding I just can’t control the well. So different than my life before Christ, when I was controlling everything, self medicating, being lord of my own kingdom. It’s taken me so many years as a follower of Jesus to realize just how different things are, in this kingdom of heaven. And that’s a good thing. It just takes some getting used to. When there’s no water, do without.

    And another thing: There was one endearing woman at the well. She dropped what she was doing and tended to the stranger in need. Rebekah.

Leave a Reply

