At the Wall

25 Nov

Yesterday I spent a considerable amount of time at the Western Wall or Wailing Wall, a remanent of the outer wall of the second temple located in Jerusalem. It is a sacred site for Jews and people all over the world come to it leaving their prayers on slips of paper crammed into its nooks and crannies.

I had a lot of time there because my group went on a tour of the nearby tunnels which would have made me claustrophobic. And maybe I was feeling a little claustrophobic – suffocated from a lack of quiet time on my own with God. So I took some time with the God at the wall and prayed a deep prayer that needed to be put out to Him.

The Jewish quarters of the wall are beautiful. They reminded me of my four years of working at the Hebrew Home for the Aged in Riverdale, New York. I feel grateful for the education Israel is providing me, allowing me to finally begin to understand the vast details relating to the history of this land, its people and the Torah.

When you’re in Israel, the spirituality in the city is so palpable, it seems one has intense encounters with God daily. I won’t get into the details of this now but how God met me here will be the source of deep reflection in the future. Below is a picture of people quietly contemplating the night before Jesus’ death while sitting in the garden of Gethsemane.

These two men are my spiritual teachers of the moment – my pastor, Ed and our guide Ilan. I think I may drive them batty with all my questions and the way I hover around them but so be it. I can’t get enough information. I want to drink of it all day long.

There are also teachers of the heart – those I’m in fellowship with. This is Nan and Barry who prayed with me today at the site of the tomb over the same prayer I wrote on a slip of paper and crammed into the Western Wall.

There are so many other things I could write about – places I’ve seen – giggles I’ve had – but I think I’ll close on a reflective note for God seems to be at my heart these days more than anything else.

One Response to “At the Wall”

  1. April King November 25, 2010 at 7:16 pm #

    Lise, I love your pictures and reflections. I’m so glad you are learning and listening and finding a few quiet moments to connect with Jesus.

Leave a Reply

