Dancing Sunshine

8 May

In native American tradition there is something known as dream time. It’s a state, whether asleep or actively conscious where the Divine speaks to us in the form of images, metaphors and words communicating wisdom, warnings and insights – if we pay attention.

I have always been drawn to dream time – sometimes unwillingly – for things break through and it just is what it is. Initially afraid, I have learned to pay attention and know that anything coming to me in the form of heightened intuition and divine intervention is simply to be tracked. Learning from various cultures about how they work with dream time has helped me better develop and contain this aspect of how my Maker shaped me.

Today my friend/colleague and I went on a hike in Sedona with a native American Indian as our guide. We weren’t certain whether the guy would be for real or not but I had a hunch he was going to be and that hunch paid off. He was a healer by nature and we were in a place in nature with a history of healing and prayer. These stones below (keep scrolling) actually represent prayers people have offered to God.

Healing is something deeply personal and not well expressed or communicated to others. I’m not even certain it is supposed to be. It’s a mystery, often quite private and usually experienced more on the internal vs. external dimension. But this morning represented more layers of the onion unfolding. More connection with the Divine. More of old snake skins shedding. It wasn’t a deep catharsis of emotion but more like release through the breath; a gentle rolling of tears.

During our excursion, we each came up with a native type name. I am now dancing sunshine. I was called sunshine as a child and I both love the sunshine and to dance. And when I surf, I see sunshine dancing on the water. I like it.

Thank you God for more experiences to feel you. The creation story resounds throughout the universe. May we live out the Imago Dei.

Leave a Reply

