Seasons

10 Sep

I have a friend who was raised on the East coast but who now lives in Southern California. Like most transplants from the East coast or Midwest, he doesn’t think California has seasons. Granted, compared to places where there is predominant snow in the winter and red and gold on the trees in the fall, he is right. However, if you track the smells in the air, the degree of crispness at night and when certain flowers bloom, you have to acknowledge that Southern California does have seasons. They are just more subtle.

One point my friend makes though is that due to the vast amount of sunshine that drenches this region, we are not as prone to internal reflection or taking quiet time as people in other communities. On this I agree with him whole heartedly. In California there is an unspoken pressure to be outdoors and active. Every time the sun shines gloriously, it feels criminal to not be out enjoying it. Thus, people don’t sit around and read as many books as they might if they were caught in a blizzard with no where to go.

Now I personally need a lot of quiet time so the sunshine doesn’t keep me from taking it but I find on cloudy or rainy days, I give myself more permission to lie in bed all day reading. I also find I don’t have to make as many excuses for my behavior.

Seasons are important because they have different rhythms. Unfortunately though, we often don’t pay attention to them. I like to think about autumn though and what it means to harvest and prepare for winter. What it means to slow down and sleep and eat a little more. Here’s to what can come from a little reflection and tuning into Mother Nature and her seasons!

And now to watch a little football…

Leave a Reply

