The Little Barrette That Could…

14 Aug

The other day before surfing, I took my barrette out of my hair. Because my car was already locked with my key safely embedded within my wet suit, I left the hair clip on the roof of my car. When I returned from surfing and put my board back on top of the car, I failed to notice my barrette still on top of the roof. Thus, I was amazed to discover that twenty minutes later, while unloading my surfboard back at home, that my little barrette still sat patiently on the roof of my car. Somehow it had survived barreling down the freeway at 75 miles an hour.

Now any female (or parent for that matter) knows that barrettes are NOTORIOUS for getting lost. I leave them all over the place and then bemoan the fact that I can’t find one when my hair is suddenly hanging in my face and I want to “concentrate.” (I have this weird notion that if I pull my hair back tight from my face when I’m working that I think better. The severe librarian look also tends to keep men from talking to me while at cafes, allowing me to get work done). So the fact that this little barrette held up on the freeway just blows my mind. And to think I used to worry that the surfboard would fall off the roof of the car… If this little barrette could hang on, I think the surfboard all strapped into its security gear can manage to stay put.

I wonder if there is a lesson here in the tenacity of that hair clip. What if my faith held that power? What if I could hold on for dear life despite the fact that I was a tiny little thing left on the top of a car flying down the highway at crazy speeds? What an amazing faith that would be!

“I tell you the truth, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you” (Matt.17:20).

Leave a Reply

