What’s Art Got To Do With It? Who Needs a Heart, When A Heart Can Be Broken?

21 Apr

When my world shattered at an early age I didn’t turn to God. I didn’t know who God was. If he existed, he had abandoned me like others had.

So I turned to books and paper and crayons. To drama and dance. And in the creative, I organized myself as best I could.

When your world shatters, you can dance along the edge of madness. I’ve seen it in myself and I’ve seen it in others. Thankfully, art heals.

0420130954a

This weekend I rejoined a group of friends and colleagues for an annual conference using a particular method of drama therapy. I have been involved with this form of work for seventeen years post graduate school. Many of us have traveled across the globe to train in it. Based on Grotowski’s work (among others), it is a radical form of encounter with self, other, one’s issues and something Other.

0420130954

Our mentor founded the New Haven Post-Traumatic Stress Center with his wife. They believe that people can heal from trauma. That through art, we can pick up the pieces of our lives. In front of their building is an actual beam from the World Trade Center.

0420130953

0420130953a

0420130953b

I am reminded that –

Today will be the day that my fragile world will fall
The teetering house of suffering will collapse
And I will be freed of what happened then.

All that matters is that I will be caught by you!
I see your outstretched hands! I feel the building sway!
Now is the time…
I cannot wait for tomorrow…again.

And I have also found God through art. He said to me, “I will give you a new heart and put a new spirt in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh” (Ezekiel 36:26). And yes, these bones can life. “He will wipe away every tear from their eyes; and there will no longer be any death; there will no longer be any mourning, or crying, or pain; the first things have passed away” Revelation 21:4.

Leave a Reply

