Sacred Ground

17 Oct

2010-07-24 16.32.38

So often sacred ground is thought of as somewhere geographically and spiritually extraordinary. And indeed, I have been to some of those places where a vortex of energy seems to exude dimensions of heaven here on earth.

20110508075240

20110508075934

Sedona

100_1557

100_1560

Canyon de Chelly

100_1748

100_1629

Israel

And yet sacred ground can be found in ordinary places as well. Our kitchens, our writing desks, our workplace.

Lately I’ve been thinking I’m on sacred ground most when I’m engaged in work I truly love. When heaven and earth seem to meet in one single point in time that suddenly transcends all notions of physical space and geography. I can think of nothing better than kicking off my shoes and realizing I am here, where the shore meets the sand and God graces us.

2 Responses to “Sacred Ground”

  1. rita kowats October 17, 2013 at 2:58 pm #

    Thank you, Lise. You have a gift of fitting eternity in a thimble, while retaining its vastness. This is lovely.

  2. lisesletters October 17, 2013 at 3:05 pm #

    Rita – That is simply one of the kindest things I’ve ever heard in relation to my writing. Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

