What’s On The Other Side?

27 May

My father was a huge Steinbeck fan. When I was as young as five years old I was subjected to listening to entire passages read from the author’s novels. Wanting to watch cartoons or to read myself on a Saturday morning, I’d instead be interrupted by Dad as he puffed on a cigarette, sipped Coca-Cola and played James Taylor on the turn table.

One passage from the “Red Pony” perplexed me because my dad said it was beautiful and I didn’t understand why. Beauty to me had to do with pretty dresses I saw in fashion magazines. In it a boy asks his father what is on the other side of the mountains. “More mountains, I guess. Why?” “And on the other side of them?” “More mountains, why?” “More mountains on and on?” The dialogue goes back and forth with the young boy asking if anyone knows what is in-between the mountains. “Oh, a few people do, I guess. But there’s nothing there to get. And not much water. Just rocks and cliffs and greasewood. Why?” “It would be good to go.” “What for? There’s nothing there.”

20160525_101358

I always think of this passage when I hike. I find myself asking, “What’s on the other side?” as I move up and down the trails.

20160525_101354

It is good to go even when there is nothing to “get.” In fact, it is best to go with no intention of getting at all.

20160525_100903

20160525_100135

I love the little boy’s inquisitiveness and insistence. I also love the strength and majesty of the mountains.

I look up and they are always there. They have not moved. They shape the confines of my life the same way a good parent’s presence stands gently in the backdrop or the way Spirit gently graces one’s experiences.

We humans are always looking outward curious about our surroundings – where we came from, where we are, and where we’re headed. I take to the hills to guide me through my journey the same way I grab a board to propel me through water’s motion, time, and space. What’s on the other side and in-between is the Mystery – so much grander and bigger than us and so much more miraculous.

 

4 Responses to “What’s On The Other Side?”

  1. CONNIE PETERSON May 27, 2016 at 2:32 pm #

    Yes, yes yes!You are such a fabulous writer. XOConnie

    From: Lises Letters To: c.peterson8784@sbcglobal.net Sent: Friday, May 27, 2016 6:45 AM Subject: [New post] What’s On The Other Side? #yiv4367077069 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv4367077069 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv4367077069 a.yiv4367077069primaryactionlink:link, #yiv4367077069 a.yiv4367077069primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv4367077069 a.yiv4367077069primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv4367077069 a.yiv4367077069primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv4367077069 WordPress.com | lisesletters posted: “My father was a huge Steinbeck fan. When I was as young as five years old I was subjected to listening to entire passages read from the author’s novels. Wanting to watch cartoons or to read myself on a Saturday morning, I’d instead be interrupted by Dad a” | |

  2. Gaelle1947 May 27, 2016 at 3:34 pm #

    Oh I so LOVE that analogy and the accompanying photos. Really stirred my creative spirit. Inspires me to go to the hills and paint! Thank you.

    • lisesletters May 27, 2016 at 5:17 pm #

      Wonderful! I’m so glad. Painting and hiking sound like marvelous ways to spend the long weekend. Namaste.

Leave a Reply

